Friend of God

This morning I read an email newsletter in my inbox from Pastor James MacDonald with this verse

Psalm 25:14 (New Living Translation)

“The Lord is a friend to those who fear him.
He teaches them his covenant.”

Reading that verse struck a special chord in me. I wanted to write down my thoughts on how that verse has become alive in my life. I had no place to write it down and it’s the reason I started this blog.

As Pastor James explained, the Hebrew word there for friend refers to the intimate counsel that one would get from a close friend. This intimacy is only reserved for those who fear him.When I look at that verse, I feel so unworthy. That the infinitely powerful and infinitely holy God of the universe would call me a friend. Understanding who God is and what his wrath is capable of (fearing Him) is necessary but this verse also teaches us that once we fear God our relationship with Him changes to that of a friend. That comes from his amazing love that He would grant us that awesome privilege.

I can certainly attest to this. When I became saved, I saw a change in my thoughts and actions. I started to see the world the way the Bible says. When I pray, I pray for much different things now. I feel things that the Bible says God cares about. When I read the Bible, I see the things that God cares about. That is his secret counsel as a friend in my life.

Knowing who I am, and the wretchedness of my life, I am humbled beyond explanation that the God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob and every saint in the Bible is the same God who says that I am His friend as well. I pray that as I live this life I will grow in holiness and become more worthy to be known as a friend of God the same way Abraham and David was known.

I was once an enemy of God but Jesus’ work on the cross made it possible for me to put away the enmity with God and become friends with God. What grace! I don’t have many friends in my life but I am a friend with the One that matters. Thank you Jesus.

Romans 5:10 (New Living Translation)

“For since our friendship with God was restored by the death of his Son while we were still his enemies, we will certainly be saved through the life of his Son.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

